Demons 2

Tenants at a high rise apartment building finds the place suddenly infested with Demons.

This 1986 flick stars David Edwin Knight, Nancy Brilli, and Coralina Cataldi-Tassoni. It was written by Dario Argento, Dardano Sacchetti, Franco Ferrini, and its director Lamberto Bava.

Here’s the sequel to the earlier Demons, and what do we get?

Tenants in a high rise watch a familiar (but not the same) movie as the last film. One of them gets possessed by the film and starts building an army of like minded monstrosities.

In other words, more of the same. A group of people trapped in a small area, crappy Horror flick the possible cause of the whole thing, no semblance of rules regarding the supernatural, and onwards to glory. We even have punks driving around town with little to no connection with the plot.

Which means it’s a carbon copy of the original film, right?

Not really.

Demons 2 follows multiple plot lines with various characters in different situations. Whether you care or not for the characters is beyond the point. The structure is more complex than before though it doesn’t quite work as well as it would in… Well, let’s face it. In a better movie.

Adding to things is that there are also more Demons that aren’t simply people in make-up, which also adds to the mix. The effects aren’t the greatest, but this is my jam. I loves me some monsters.

Also, the movie has an actual antagonist running around in charge of things. Does it make it better? Worse? It sort of gives things a focus it might not need.

I sort of go back and forth on the quality of this film. I think it’s an improvement on the first, but still, it isn’t a good Horror movie. Entertaining, but goof.

As with the previous film, I intend to go back for more. I love this movie. I love this series. Which, thankfully, ends here. Despite other Italian Horror movies piggy back on to it.

As much as I’d rather call it good, it’s really a meh flick. (1.0 points). I love it to death, though (2.0 points) and really wish I could give it a little nudge up higher points wise. But I can’t.

Leave a comment