As Above, So Below

A search for a fabled treasure leads to horror beneath the ground

This 2014 flick stars Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman, and Edwin Hodge. It was written by Drew Dowdle and its Director John Erik Dowdle.

To set the stage for the review, let us cover the movie in brief.

A young scholar strives to complete her father’s work finding a legendary artifact. She risks life and limb doing so, a fact she probably should have mentioned to the young man documenting this particular phase of her career.

In any case, she learned of the potential resting place of her artifact and gathers a small team to go find it. As this is a found footage film, you can guess how well that turns out.

I picked this movie because of the trailer. It had a nice vibe to it and of late I’d been having good luck from this subgenre. Up to the point I was a wee nervous I was due for a clunker.

So. How did it go?

Pretty damn good, actually. After an action start it has a slow build until the characters start their final search deep beneath a City of Death… excuse me, Paris. Doctor Who reference popped up and I couldn’t shake it.

Anyways, it’s a pretty tense affair. Not terribly scary but never boring, either. The plot keeps on going to the end and there’s really no fat on it.

I say not scary, but there is one jump scare I knew was coming that still got me. God I love that when it happens.

The acting is all good and there’s a reasonable explanation for why they keep filming, though I’m not sure if there’s one for why all the footage managed to leave the underground. I probably missed it. I had a hard time keeping track of whose camera was the view point camera, so it’s possible I messed up.

Doesn’t matter. If it’s a flaw, it’s a minor one. This is better than Blair Witch and a good Horror flick. That’s all that matters.

Well, there could have been more monsters, maybe. C’est la vie.

This is great flick (2.0 points). I had a blast watching it, and while it’s not in the lists of films Cullen will watch repeatedly I’d not say no to another go down below (1.5 points).

Leave a comment