Baskin

Bad cops enter a really bad place, meet bad people, and have a REALLY bad night.

This 2015 flick stars Ergun Kuyucu, Muharrem Bayrak, and Gorkem Kasal. It was written by Cem Özüduru, Erçin Sadıkoğlu, Eren Akay, and its director, Can Evrenol.

Of late, all the new reviews on this site have been short ones, like this one. This was not the intent of the site and I really need to do better. I want full, in depth looks at these films. Or, rather, as full as in depth as I possibly can get.

The long forms should be humorous and perhaps irreverent in nature. No matter what I feel about the film, whether I like it or not, I need to be able to poke fun at it.

Therefore, by rights, the short form should be reserved for the stuff I can’t make fun of, for whatever reason. It should not be used so that I have new reviews mixed with the old. Which is what I’ve been doing.

And, honestly, may well continue to do.

All of this is a long way to set up the main point: Even if I was doing this site as intended, I’d be doing a short form for Buskin.

This sucker is intense. To the point I wouldn’t know where to begin.

It covers a group of Turkish cops (hopefully bad cops and not typical cops) who get called into an obscure building for obscure reasons. I had it pegged more or less from the beginning, but it’s execution is sublime. Very weird, well acted. It’s a Turkish Horror flick and it makes me want to seek out.

It gets super grotesque towards the end, so if your a Val Lewton subtle Horror type you’re going to want to make a hard pass. Outside of that, I’m glad I watched, yet strangely have no intention of ever watching it again.

This is a great Horror flick. Really does it’s job (2.0 Points). It is, though, one of those flicks I don’t have to watch ever gain, despite liking it (1.5 Points)

Leave a comment