The Contraption

Opening Thoughts

A man works on a special project.

This 1977 short film stars Richard O’Brien and Charlotte Cornwell.  It was written and directed by James Dearden

Here again is a Golden Oldie from my earlier attempts at a review blog. It was chosen to demonstrate the range of subjects I’m willing to cover. It’s a little dry, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

The Contraption is a short film shot in 1977.  It has only one set, one actor (plus a voice over) and only one line of dialogue.  It used to pop up on cable channels a lot back in the Eighties, and it’s one of those films that if you’ve seen it once, you never forget it.

It can be found on the web (I rewatched it off Youtube when writing this review) and I suggest seeing it before reading what I have to say on the matter.

What follows is, for me, a rather vanilla Viewing Thoughts, followed by the accustomed After Thoughts section.  And as there’s little more for me to say here, off we go to the next page to get things started.

Leave a comment