Blood Beach

Opening Thoughts

Date:
1980
Stars:
David Huffman

Marianna Hill

Burt Young
Writer:
Jeffery Bloom
Director:
Jeffery Bloom
WRC Score:
3.5/4
Note: 
First posted in a
different form on
January 31, 2014

I used to see the movie poster for Blood Beach a lot back in the glory days of the video rental chains.  As posters go, it’s simply the best.  And that tag line: Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water – you can’t get to it.  Even if you don’t know it’s referencing Jaws 2‘s own tag, it’s still great.  Really makes you want to see the film.

Never did rent it.  By the time I got money of my own, it was long gone from the shelves.  Replaced by other films of dubious worth.  I won’t say I missed it, exactly, but I didn’t forget about it.

I mean, with that poster how could you?Blood Beach 000

Closest time I came to watching this in the years between then and now was when it was playing on a UHF channel back in Chicago.  It was like Channel 60 or maybe 66. One of those two.  And not on cable; antenna all the way.

What those youngsters out there need to know is that the UHF signal quality via antenna back then was often trashy.  Fuzzy picture, sometimes dropped reception, the works.  Sometimes you’d even lose the picture right before the film ended, which was happened to me with the deliriously bad The Pit (1981).  Which was a shame, as the ending makes the film.

Anyway.

With Blood Beach the reception was almost good enough to see something.  Not great, but enough to get the gist.  Especially the monster.  That really stuck in my memory.

So between the poster and that one viewing, I really, really, really wanted to watch a good copy of this film.  Which has never, ever happened.  No DVD release as far as I can tell.  Film’s been lost for a while

Then, as fate would have it, technology comes through for me.  Not only could I buy the flick, I can download it direct to my computer.  Isn’t that great?

Well, a little yes, a little no.  But that starts on the next page…

Leave a Reply

