The Slayer

Date:
1982
Stars:
Sarah Kendall
Frederick Flynn
Carol Kottenbrook
Writer:
J.S. Cardone

Bill Ewing
Director:
J.S. Cardone
WRC Score:
3/4

A retreat to a secluded island turns to terror as The Slayer stalks a couple of couples. Who will live? Who will die? Who will write the long form of this review so I don’t have to?

Nah, I’m just playing. It’s already in the can.

For the majority of its run time this flick is, if not a scary film, then a moody one. The characters don’t descend to hatefulness thanks to the actors (maybe), but you probably won’t care if most of them died. Or none of them. Or all of them.

It’s a low budget affair, so if you don’t expect too much, you probably won’t be that disappointed. Just know going in that the lead female is having mental issues and, yeah, she tries desperately to get the others to believe her about the evil going down.

Deeply original this film just isn’t, but for the most part there’s nothing wrong with it, outside it isn’t really scary.

“Majority of its run time.” “For the most part.” Sounds like a major caveat coming, doesn’t it?

Here it is, in as mild a spoiler as I can manage.

In the last third The Slayer commits a major sin that I can’t look past. I knew it was coming from around the credits, I was braced for its appearance. Still didn’t matter. It should never have happened.

Thus I’m taking a half point off, pushing a meh flick down to bad (0.5 points). I also can’t say that I like it that much, though a part of me really seems to want to. I don’t dislike it, though, so that’s an official meh (1.0 point).

Your mileage might vary, but I really don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

