Godmonster of Indian Flats

Opening Thoughts

Date:
1973
Stars:
Christopher Brooks
Stuart Lancaster
E. Kerrigan Prescott
Writer:
Fredric Hobbs
Director:
Fredric Hobbs
WRC Score:
1.5/4
Note: 
First posted in
a different form
on March 8, 2010

From the moment I heard of Godmonster of Indian Flats (here after called Godmonster) I knew I had to see it. A movie about a Giant Mutant Sheep? Oh God, it had to be a sight to see!

I even came close to buying it one day.  Had the DVD in my hands. And then slipped it back on the shelf.

Always wondered if that was a mistake. Always doubted the wisdom of that choice.

Then I rented the movie from Netflix and found out I hadn’t wasted my money.  For once.

Of course, I wrote a review of the film, and with that thought about it no more.

Until I decided to reboot my site.  To rework and sort of condense things.

Boy, do I wish I had that disk now.

No, not really.

On the following pages waits my viewing of the film.  Back in the day (as now) I wrote it while watching the film for the full effect of the experience.  Six years on I’ve done a wee bit of pruning to streamline things.  A practice I find a little questionable (I sure as hell couldn’t make myself do this for a lot of the reviews I’ve rebooted) but what can you do?

My big fear is that I make this sound better than it is.  I sure as hell couldn’t make it any worse.

3 thoughts on “Godmonster of Indian Flats”

  1. You ought to check out the recent Kiwi (err… New Zealander) film Black Sheep for all your mutant sheep movie needs. Trust me – it’s a lot better than Godmonster (which I completely agree with your review on, by the way…)

  2. Oh, you really should hunt Black Sheep down. In its own very strange way, it’s kind of like the Howling, except with better acting, special effects, likable characters, and a good sense of humor.

    Or, at least that’s what I think.

    And yes – the trailer for Godmonster almost has to be better than the film itself, if for no other reason than its brevity.

Leave a Reply

