Profondo rosso (Whale)

Opening Thoughts

Also Called:

Deep Red

The Hatchet Murders

Date:
1975
Stars:
David Hemmings

Daria Nicolodi

Gabriele Lavia
Writer:
Bernardino Zapponi
Director:
Dario Argento
WRC Score:
3.5/4

(-_-)b
Note: 
First posted in a different form on November 12, 2011

When I speak of Dario Argento I speak from a great well of ignorance.  Not as great as, say Lucio Fulci, who I’ve only seen one film, but it’s fairly good sized.

So when I tell you that I think Deep Red is his best film, you should know that it’s a praise on the shakiest of legs.

However, of the films of his I’ve seen (which include the glorious messes such as Suspira (1977) and Inferno (1980)), this is my favorite.  Not that I’ve watched it a lot in my life; this marks my second viewing.  The first happened to be, as I recall it, on a pan-and-scan copy.  And a horrible print at that.

Anyways, let us proceed.  As (almost) always, the next section was written as I watched, with thoughts along the way.  There has been some condensing (most of the murders are touched on but not described), so you might not get the feeling that this is a gory, gruesome movie.  Let me assure you, it is.  A trifle fake looking in places, but gory nonetheless.

One thought on “Profondo rosso (Whale)”

  1. Pingback: Written in Blood

Leave a Reply

