Profondo rosso

Also Called:

Deep Red

The Hatchet Murders

Date:
1975
Stars:
David Hemmings

Daria Nicolodi

Gabriele Lavia
Writer:
Bernardino Zapponi
Director:
Dario Argento
WRC Score:
3.5/4

(-_-)b
Note: 
First posted in a different form on November 12, 2011

Profondo rosso (also known as Deep Red) opens with a psychic demonstrating her abilities to a conference room filled with people.  Unfortunately she manages to read the wrong mind, setting in motion a chain reaction of death as a killer tries to keep hidden in the shadows.

And that, I think, is enough information.

Profondo rosso is a very enjoyable Giallo. It’s most likely one of director Dario Argento‘s best films, if not one of the best in its particular subgenre.  Not that my exposure to either is definitive, mind.

As much as I want to, I can’t force myself to give it a perfect score.  Some very questionable plotting in places, which, frankly, is a part of being a Giallo.  Still, it’s damn good (1.5 points).

I loved it when I first saw Profondo rosso on a poor copy, and now that I’ve seen it in pristine condition I love it even more (2 points).  I RECOMMEND it to Italian Horror movie fans. Others might not agree with such high praise, but should check it out. Gory but good.

Overall Score: 3.5 (+) total point out of a possible 4 (-_-)b

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

