Paura nella città dei morti viventi

Opening Thoughts

Also Called:

City of the Living Dead

Gates of Hell

Date:
1980
Stars:
Christopher George

Catriona MacColl

Carlo De Mejo

Writer:
Lucio Fulci
Director:
Lucio Fulci
WRC Score:
3.5/4
Note: 
First posted in
a different form
on March 19, 2011

Here we go, back into the world of Italian Horror.  Last time I had the pleasure (if I might sully the word pleasure) of witnessing The Night Evelyn Came Out of the Tomb, a film that makes you wish someone would gather up every last copy of it, set it on fire so that you might foul the ashes.  This time, it’s a work by the Gore-Hound’s best friend, Lucio Fulci, the guy who brought us zombies fighting sharks and women who scuba dive in the nude.

Classy pictures, don’t you know.[1.]

Paura nella città dei morti viventi was my first Fulci movie, and, frankly, my expectations were quite low.  That might explain the high marks I gave it.

2016-City of the Living Dead-Side Note-001Then again, there are quite a few stylish touches in the film and, after watching too many screaming dead teen movies beforehand it was nice to see someone who seemed to know what they were doing, horrorwise.

In any case, let’s go see what’s to see in a city of the living dead.

2 thoughts on “Paura nella città dei morti viventi”

  1. Sorry – been busy here, and it took me a while to get through that review. I’ll say this for you – if it weren’t for the maggots (you know how I am about those lil’ creepy buggers), I’d be watching this one right now. You convinced me, and you know I don’t like Italian horror movies.

    Of course, I’d never give it as good a review as you did. You know me – I’m just not a fan of Italian horror. You can remember, I’m sure, my take on Susperia – and it’s one of the absolute classics of the sub-genre. I need the characters to make sense, and I need a plot that holds together – otherwise, I’m not scared, and if a horror movie isn’t at the very least creeping me out, I think it fails.

    This is an outstanding review, by the way. I look forward to your next one. Maybe you could do one of the 50s giant arthropod set – Beginning of the End, that sort of thing. Just a suggestion… 😉

    1. Thanks for the reply, bro. I think you might be missing out in the long run on passing on Italian Horror. For instance, Mario Bava’s Kill Baby, Kill doesn’t make a lick of sense in places, but it has some scenes that are glorious in their creepiness.

      (For a sample of Bava and Italian horror you might like with your peccadillos, try Black Sabbath. It’s an anthology film that not only has Boris Karloff as a narrator, but also the same in what I believe is his only vampire role.)

      Speaking of Boris, my intention has been to fill in the missing letters of the alphabet in my archives. My next choice for a film to review is The Ape, which has the additional benifits of being a.) not a teen slasher/gore flick, b.) set earlier than the 1970s, and c.) has Karloff as the Ape.

      Really.

      Though not quite like that, as we shall see.

      After that, it’s either The Monster That Conquered the World (an excellent example of a giant whatsit dealing with killer prehistoric snails) or Godzilla v. the Smog Monster, in which I fully intend to defend one of the worst Godzilla movies ever made.

      I will, of course, trash it at some point during the review, but still! Think of the family shame heading our way!

Leave a Reply

