Empire of the Ants

Opening Thoughts

Date:
1977
Stars:
Joan Collins

Robert Lansing

John Davie Carson
Writer:
Jack Turley
Director:
Bert I. Gordon
WRC Score:
2/4

(-_-)p
Note: 
First posted in
a different form
on July 9, 2010

It’s easy to mistake Bert I. Gordon as a one note man, filming variations on the same story for the entirety of his career. This neither accurate or fair: Only nine of his twenty-four movies dealt with over-sized animals and/or people threatening the world. It’s just that those nine tend to loom large, as it were, over the rest of his output.

Empire of the Ants marks the last time Gordon went to this particular well, as well as the last time he–now how to put this kindly?–“adapted” a story by H. G. Wells. As the poster implies, it deals with over-sized ants. It’s also the only film that dares stand antenna to antenna to the Sci Fi classic Them!.

How does it do in comparison to either the Wells story or Them!? Well, let’s just say that Gordon should have stuck with Giant Grasshopper movies and leave it at that.

I loved this movie as a kid. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Which only proves I never had much taste in movies.

As an adult, I haven’t had much use for it. I get kind of riled up towards the end of this particular review over certain aspects of the flick, but I don’t hate the movie.

Really.

I’ll prove it to you. Turn to the next page and see for yourself.

2 thoughts on “Empire of the Ants”

  1. Well, hell. It’s as bad as I remember it. You want a story about this one? I’ve got one.

    I saw this movie in Bosnia. I watched it with a commo guy while we were providing security for a commo station, and I still haven’t forgiven him for it. I mean, yeah – I was deployed, so I had seen Platoon and Top Gun so many times that to this days, those movies both make me sick… but this? Jumping JC on a Pogo Stick!

    Anyone contemplating watching this movie should watch Them! instead. Seriously.

    1. At least the guy didn’t make you watch The Giant Spider Invasion, a movie that makes this one look like an Oscar candidate.

      Seriously, you’d think any movie with the Skipper from Gilligan’s Island facing down a Volkswagen Beetle would be… I dunno… better…

Leave a Reply

