The Nightmare Never Ends

Opening Thoughts

Also Called:

Cataclysm

Satan’s Supper

Date:
1980
Stars:
Cameron Mitchell
Marc Lawrence
Faith Clift
Writer:
Phillip Yordan
Directors:
Phillip Marshak

Tom McGowan

Gregg C. Tallas
WRC Score:
1.5/4
Note: 
First posted in
a different form
on July 29, 2009

This was my fifth official review, if I recall correctly. At the time I was struggling with how to format things (which of course never happens here any more ha ha ha thank God I hid the archives) and finding my “Voice” as it were.

Looking back that’s a lot of crap to have to sit through. Cathy’s Curse. The Night Evelyn Came Out of the Grave. The Oasis of Zombies. With only Horror Express to get me through. A review which I botched, I should add.

It’s a wonder I’m still doing this.

Or that I’m sane at all.

Anyway.

My first encounter with The Nightmare Never Ends was long before I knew what the Internet was, back where there were these things called “Video Rental Stores”. Nowadays you can just jump onto YouTube or some such and watch “fine” “quality” “movies” like this one. Then you had to rent what was called tapes, and to decide what tapes to rent, you had to read the back of their boxes. Crazy, right?

This particular box gave a synopsis that covered the entire plot. Down to the ending.

Needless to say, I didn’t rent the movie. I mean, telling the whole story on the back? That reeked of desperation, is what that did.

Then, maybe twenty years later, I purchased a movie collection that just happened to have this film in it.

Still not sure how I feel about that.

On the next page we begin our look at The Nightmare Never Ends. Trust me. This will be far more entertaining than the actual film. At the very least, it’ll beat the hell out of reading the back of a box.

4 thoughts on “The Nightmare Never Ends”

  1. Early warning, yes. But will it discourage you from watching the horrid thing? Only time will tell…

    MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Or, y’know, you might just vow never to watch it.

    It’s… It’s really up to you.

  2. Man, this is my favorite crappy movie. So many interesting ideas, incompetently filmed. I’d love to see a remake of this done right. If anything, the whole atheist author subplot is more relevant today.

    You really should check out “Night Train to Terror”. In that movie, new special effects shots have been inserted into the death scenes, making them less ambiguous. Mostly stop-motion animated giant monsters. And stand-ins who don’t quite match the original actors. It’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

