Friday the 13th

Date:
1980
Stars:
Betsy Palmer
Adrienne King
Jeannine Taylor
Writers:
Victor Miller
Director:
Sean S. Cunningham
WRC Score:
2/4
Note: 
First posted in a different form on May 29, 2012

Before we start, let me tell a couple of things. First off, I’m not a fan of Slasher movies. At all. Don’t get me wrong, I watch them. But when I go into them, I go in expecting the worst. Meaning I’m putting money on not being entertained. When I am, I tend to be most pleased.

Second of, of the Slasher flick series, Friday the 13th happens to be my least favorite. This particular film, the very first in a long, long series, is atypical for reasons that will become clear as we go on. That I liked it as much as I did comes as no little surprise to me.

And yeah, I remember that I gave it a mediocre rank above. That’s my point.

Finally, let me make the following declaration: Final Girl. If you have no idea what that means, you might find the following essay helpful in finding out where I’m coming from here. Or not. Depends really.

In any case, let’s take a little ride in the Wayback machine to the last campground anyone with any sense would ever want to go to… Or perhaps just turn the page.  Safer that way, really. After all, anyone who goes to Camp Crystal Lake is of course doomed…

Leave a Reply

