La notte che Evelyn uscì dalla tomba

Opening Thoughts

Also called:
The Night Evelyn Came Out of
the Grave

Date:
1971
Stars:
Anthony Steffen

Marina Malfatti

Enzo Tarasio
Writers:
Massimo Felisatti

Fabio Pittorru

Emilio Miraglia
Director:
Emilio Miraglia
WRC Score:
0/4
Note: 
First posted in a
different form on
July 6, 2008

I distinctly remember vowing never to see this movie again.

Why, you might add?

To keep this page free of spoilers, an aspect of La notte che Evelyn uscì dalla tomba really, really, really made me mad. Rereading the review for this reboot, I could see just where Past Cullen lost all his happy thoughts and went ballistic.

So had me my druthers, I’d just chop the old review up into bits, then post them in their respective plays.

Except I can’t. As it is the second movie I reviewed for the site and by that point the format I kinda stick to these days hadn’t gelled just yet. Thus a rewrite is in order.

Thus I’m watching La notte che Evelyn uscì dalla tomba again.

It’s not all gloom and doom. They say every seven years we become new people, down to the cellular level. It hasn’t been that long yet; it hasn’t even reached six years even. But maybe in that time I’ve become who likes this kind of film.

I hope not. But it could happen.

Another hope spot: the film I watched all those years ago is but one of nine different versions. Three years ago I learned that I happened to own one of the other versions. One with an extra sixteen minutes. Perhaps this version will be better.

Of course I’m sitting here screaming sixteen more minutes of this film! in my mind.

At least I hope it’s my mind…

That silliness a side, turn the page (metaphorically speaking) for La notte che Evelyn uscì dalla tomba, the rewatch.

Leave a Reply

