La tumba de los muertos vivientes

Also Called:
Oasis of the Zombies

Treasure of the Living Dead

Oasis of the Living Dead

Date:
1983
Stars:
Manuel Gélin

Henri Lambery

France Lomay
Writer:
Jesús Franco
Director:
Jesús Franco
WRC Score:
2/4

(-_-)p
Note: 
First posted in a
different form on
July 6, 2011

2016-link box-001

La tumba de los muertos vivientes (also known as Oasis of the Zombies, Treasure of the Living Dead, Oasis of the Living Dead, or whatever you want to call) is your typical coming of age film.  A young man heads out to an oasis to find his father’s lost treasure.  To go into what he finds there would go into spoiler country, but I’ll give you a hint:  It’s sand.  Lots of sand.  With palm trees.

Oh.  And there might be, might be I said, a few zombies too.

Funny how hard it is to keep spoiler free.  Especially with this flick.  While La tumba de los muertos vivientes does have itself a plot, problematic though it may, its sometimes hard to tell.  So many scenes of people wandering about, coupled with repeated scenes.   Not helping are the cardboard (though mostly inoffensive) characters.

Due to this and special effects range from goofy to tragic, this flick can only be called bad.  Others may disagree–they might even use words like terrible–but honestly?   I’ve seen much, much worse than this.  And have the mental scars to prove it.

In fact, and I’m a little embarrassed to say this, I really started enjoying myself as the film went along.  This review comes from my second time watching this film, and unlike the first time, where my opinion dropped on reflection, I find my fondness for this flick growing (1.5 points).  I know it’s bad, sure as shooting, but I enjoyed myself.

God is my taste slipping with age.

You may watch it as you wish, but I’m NOT RECOMMENDING it.

Score: 2.5 points out of a possible 4 (-_-) p

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

